Special Sunday lunch

Yesterday, we had a special Sunday lunch. Special, because we are in France, shared our lunch with good friends, Angie and Eric, and remembered Jeanne and Paul Strang by eating le poulet les Cazes / roast chicken à Lascazes. This is their own recipe which I am sure was enjoyed many times at their home, Lascazes, in the Aveyron. I bought a lovely farm chicken (poulet jaune) from the market in Cahors and started by making a bit of stock from the giblets and wing tips. I stuffed the chicken with chopped onion, garlic, and tarragon, adding butter and salt and pepper. I coated the chicken with more butter mixed with piment d’Espelette and roasted in a hot oven for just over an hour, adding stock to the pan and basting the bird every so often. I placed the chicken on a warm plate and covered with foil to rest, while I deglazed the pan with verjus to make the gravy. This was the perfect dish to raise a glass to Jeanne and Paul and to remember them fondly.

2 thoughts on “Special Sunday lunch

  1. And it was delicious! Thank you very much, Ali and John. Superb lunch, toasting Jeanne and Paul all the way! Angie and Eric

    Like

Leave a comment