Fishy soup

Le ttoro / Basque fish soup originates from the fishing port of St Jean de Luz in the French Basque country. You can find it in restaurants and homes, and it seems everyone has their own version. I made a basic version, as follows. I fried chopped onions in olive oil until golden, then added some hake bits and pieces (head, skin and bones) along with a bouquet garni, salt, pepper corns, and ground piment d’Espelette. This delicious red pepper powder has a unique flavour, spicy, sweet and fruity, and has its own AOP appellation in France (i.e. the peppers can only be grown in the area around Espelette, inland from St Jean). I covered everything with water and simmered for 30 minutes, then strained the resulting liquid. Meanwhile, I dipped some hake cutlets in seasoned flour and fried briefly, before adding them to the hot stock and simmering gently until cooked through. I also fried some rounds of French bread to make large croutons. I put these in my serving bowls, sprinkled with chopped parsley and garlic, placed a fish cutlet on top, sprinkled over a little more piment, and ladled over the stock. The result was a delicate soup, with a crunchy garlicky crouton, complemented by a perfectly cooked piece of fish. You could add additional seafood if you want, such as langoustine tails and mussels.

One thought on “Fishy soup

Leave a comment