Quite a showstopper!

To make gateau au citron et yaourt / lemon yoghurt cake, I used a Bundt tin for the first time. I was a bit nervous as it looked complicated. I prepared the tin by brushing every nook and cranny with melted butter, and then dusting with flour. I creamed butter and sugar together, then added two beaten eggs, one at a time. When well mixed, I added flour, baking powder, salt, plain yoghurt and the grated zest of one lemon. The result was a creamy thick batter. I transferred this mixture to the tin, spoonful by spoonful, making sure that there were no trapped air bubbles. I baked for 50 minutes until risen and golden brown. I left the cake to cool for 15 minutes, then tentatively turned it upside down. It slid out easily, revealing a lovely intricate pattern.

Leave a comment